William A. Zellmer Lecture Fund: Where Practice Meets Policy

The ASHP Foundation established the William A. Zellmer Lecture Fund in 2009 to honor one of pharmacy’s distinguished leaders, William A. Zellmer, as he retired. Mr. Zellmer’s ASHP career panned an extraordinary 39 years, and he continues to distinguish himself as a brilliant thinker and writer. His leadership and influence have helped shape the pharmacy profession in the U.S. and abroad.

The William A. Zellmer Lecture Fund is used to invite a distinguished speaker to address the practice leaders of ASHP during ASHP Policy Week on an annual basis. Through the lecture fund, health-system pharmacy leaders from around the country will continue to be inspired and confronted by leading thinkers regarding concerns facing pharmacy and healthcare.

Gifts are welcome to sustain this thought provoking lecture series and honor the legacy of William Zellmer. To donate to the Zellmer Lecture Fund, make a gift onlinedownload the brochure and contribution form, or contact the ASHP Foundation at 301-664-8612; foundation@ashp.org.

View a list of Zellmer Fund Donors.

Zellmer Lecturers & Topics

Michael R. Cohen Named 2018 William A. Zellmer Lecture Award Recipient
Dr. Cohen's lecture, "Advancing Medication Safety Through Public Policy," will be delivered during lunch on Tuesday, September 25, at ASHP Policy Week.

Michael R. Cohen, R.Ph., M.S., Sc.D. (hon), DPS (hon), FASHP, is president of The Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP), a non-profit healthcare organization that specializes in understanding the causes of medication errors, providing error-reduction strategies to the healthcare community, policy makers, and the public. Cohen serves as co-editor of the ISMP Medication Safety Alert! publications that reach over one million health professionals in the US as well as regulatory authorities and others in over 30 foreign countries. He is also co-editor of the ISMP consumer website, www.consumermedsafety.org. 

Cohen is the Chairperson of the International Medication Safety Network. He has served terms on the US FDA Drug Safety and Risk Management Advisory Committee (DSaRM) and the Nonprescription Drugs Advisory Committee (NDAC) and is currently a consultant to FDA. Among recognitions he has received, he is a recipient of the John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award from the National Quality Forum and the Joint Commission, the Harvey A. K. Whitney Award from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists and he has also been recognized as a MacArthur Fellow by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.    
Read about past Zellmer Lectures